School Redistricting: What's Next

Jan 31 2012

A big thank you to everyone who came to the demographer community input meeting last night. Mary Lin was out in force and made great points during the question / comment period.

What's next?

Now we enter the feedback phase for the round 2 maps. We have until February 24 to submit our input to the demographers, school board members and APS leadership.

In last month's special meeting, Candler Park voted overwhelming to keep Mary Lin elementary K-5, and to stay in the Inman - Grady cluster. For those reasons, Candler Park supports option A. By comparison, Option B has us merging with Kirkwood's Toomer Elementary in a "split model," and not getting the long-promised expansion from Mary Lin. (Note: our support for option A pertains only to our neighborhood; we are NOT purporting to tell other neighborhoods what is best for them).

How you can help

1) FILL OUT THE SURVEY -- By February 24, go here: http://www.survey2go.net/aps/?sidx=203 and let the demographers know which option you prefer and why. It is critical that you explain your answers. The demographers will tally numbers for the options, but they will also look for key themes.

2) CONTACT DECISION MAKERS -- Let the demographers, school board members and APS leadership hear from you so they will take our concerns into account.

General feedback email address: apsdemographicstudy@atlantapublicschools.us

Erroll B. Davis, Jr., Superintendent of Schools: ebdavis@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Steve Smith, Deputy Superintendent/Chief of Staff: swsmith@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Larry Hoskins, Deputy Superintendent of Operations: lhoskins@atlantapublicschools.us
Dr. Betsy Bockman, SRT-3 Executive Director: bbockman@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Dr. Brian Mitchell, Mary Lin principal: bdmitchell@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Ken Bleakley of the Bleakley consulting group (demographers): ken@blagroup.com
Councilman Alex Wan: awan@atlantaga.gov

School board members:
Cecily Harsch-Kinnane (District 3), chkinnane@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Reuben McDaniel, At-Large (3&4), rrmcdaniel@atlantapublicschools.us
Brenda Muhammad, bjmuhammad@atlantapublicschools.us
Nancy Meister, nmeister@atlanta.k12.ga.us
LacChandra Butler Burks, lbburks@atlantapublicschools.us
Yolanda Johnson, yjohnson@atlantapublicschools.us


3) ATTEND TWO IMPORTANT MEETINGS
Monday, February 6, 6pm
What: APS Board Community Meeting
Where: APS - The Center for Learning and Leadership Auditorium, 130 Trinity Avenue SW, Atlanta, 30303
Notes: Please arrive no later than 5 pm to sign up to speak! They will stop taking sign-ups at 5:30 and last time this filled up fast.

Thursday, February 9, 7-9pm
What: Atlanta Board of Education Listening Session with the SRT3 Community - Hosted by CINS
Where: Grady High School Auditorium, 929 Charles Allen Drive, Atlanta, 30309
Notes: The ABOE members from District 1 Ms. Brenda Muhammad, District 2 Ms. Cecily Harsch-Kinnane, Seat 7 At Large Mr. Courtney English, Seat 8 At Large & Board Chair Mr. Reuben McDaniel, and Seat 9 At Large Mr. Emmett Johnson will join the SRT3 Comunity for a listening session on redistricting in SRT3. The board members representing Districts 3, 4, 5 and 6 will also be invited to participate.

Remember: It's important to get to these meetings very early. Last night's meeting was full long before it started. Also, we'd like to sit together as much as possible.